Alert: All classes and work will take place remotely for the remainder of the semester. Check the Columbia COVID-19 site for updates to campus and academic operations.

Columbia Law School’s 2018 graduation took place Monday, May 14 at 5 p.m. on the South Lawn of the Columbia University Morningside Heights campus. Jeh C. Johnson ’82, Paul Weiss partner and former U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security, delivered the keynote address.

Read about the highlights of the day.

2018 Graduate Profiles

Patricio Martínez Llompart ’18

"The dual role of lawyer is what attracted me to the law in the first place," says Patricio Martínez Llompart ’18. 

Amanda Sotto Fontes ’18 LL.M.

Amanda Sotto Fontes ’18 LL.M. was a Mexican lawyer and entrepreneur when she came to Columbia. "Every day...I learned something applicable to my company."

Michael Stack J.D. ’18, MBA ’18

Michael Stack J.D. ’18, MBA ’18, a former U.S. Marine intelligence officer, on what led him to Columbia's unique J.D./MBA program.

Emily Rebecca Hush ’18

"I wanted more opportunities. I wanted more challenges in my life. I realize the law could provide that," says Emily Rebecca Hush ’18, who won prizes in two moot court competitions.

Neeraj R.S. ’18 LL.M.

While working in his home country of India, Neeraj R.S. ’18 LL.M. read a book that got him fascinated with international trade law. That book brought him to Columbia.

Yasmin Theodros Dagne ’18

Yasmin Theodros Dagne ’18 on why she studied human rights law at Columbia, and the supportive community she found here.


Dean's Remarks

Gillian Lester is Dean and the Lucy G. Moses Professor of Law at Columbia Law School.

Read More
Keynote Address

The Honorable Jeh Charles Johnson '82 delivers the keynote address. 

Read More
Willis L.M. Reese Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Graduates award Professor Edward Morrison the 2018 Willis L.M. Reese Prize for Excellence in Teaching.

Read More

Student Speakers 

Ramsey  Fisher ’18
Student Senate President 

Romane Paul ’18
J.D. Class Speaker

Fuad Gonzalo Chacón Tapias ’18 LL.M.
LL.M. Class Speaker

Owen Keiter ’18, Casidhe McClone ’18, Elizabeth Brasher ’18, Romane Paul ’18
Presentation of the Willis L.M. Reese Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Cassandre Saint-Preux ’18
Introduction for Jeh Johnson ’82

Kathryn Kennedy Bleday ’18, Carly Goeman ’18, Diego Navarrete ’18 LL.M., Giulia Rimoldi ’18 LL.M.
Presentation of Class Gift